School Board introduces new members


The Perry County District No. 32 Board of Education saw some changes at its latest meeting on April 10.
The board approved the official election results that were certified by Perry County Clerk Jared Kutz. The Oath of Office was administered to newly elected board members Kevin Bachmann and Melissa Carroll.
Carroll replaces Mark Gremaud, who spent several years on the board.
District Superintendent, Dr. Fara Jones, assumed the role of the chairperson and asked for nominations for the position of the board of education president and vice president. Nancy Voelker was nominated and voted in as the president of the board, while, Dominic Blythe was nominated and voted in as the vice president of the board. Both of those position remained unchanged. In other board nominations:
Jamie Robinson was voted in as the delegate.
Nancy Voelker was voted in as the alternate delegate.
Lacey O’Keefe was voted in as the treasurer of the board.
Dorris Thieret was voted in as the secretary of the board.
Julie Wibbenmeyer was voted in as the alternate secretary.
In other news, the board approved the bid for Marco’s, a digital copier company, in a presentation by Director of Technology Dan Querry. He also presented a grant application for audio, video and interactive video equipment in an ongoing discussion to record board meetings and make them accessible to the public.
The board approved the calendar committee’s recommendations presented by Stefanie Steffens, Barb Derickson and Carrie Buchheit to proceed in the development of parameters for teachers and inclement weather.

Emily Koenig, Katie Kist, Megan Vernon and Ann Brewster gave the board an update on the status of the Motor Lab. They explained the benefits and resources that the motor lab provides to the students
The district spotlight for the night was on several science students and recognizing their accomplishments:
Simon Wibbenmeyer, Best Overall, ISEF Finalist
Ezekiel Pyland, 2nd Overall, ISEF Finalist
Mason Zoellner, 2nd Overall, ISEF Finalist
Emma Fetterhoff, 3rd Overall, ISEF Finalist
Erin Holly, Best in Category
In other recognitions, Laura Buchheit was honored as the Missouri Counselors Association’s Elementary Counselor of the Year. Buchheit created social skills groups to pair students with similar needs, and implemented peer-to-peer assistance, empowering students to advocate for themselves and continue to support peers in solving problems, growing in independence at school and at home. She organized and published tiered behavior interventions for Perryville Primary.
Garrett Schott was introduced as the new Safety Director and SRO for the district,. Jane Narrow, Director of Curriculum, provided the board with the Curriculum report showing growth and achievement on NWEA testing for grades 3-12.
Dr. Jones, Superintendent, presented the financial report and the attendance report.
Attendance: High School = 83.37% Middle School = 84.75% Elementary = 91.41% Primary = 87.69 percent.