PHS and SV to hold graduations this weekend


It’s that time of year again, as seniors will walk across the stage and receive their diplomas. Perryville and St. Vincent High Schools will host their annual graduation this weekend. Perryville will hold its graduation Friday, May 21 at 7 p.m. the Perry Park Center.
Last year’s ceremony included a few restrictions because of COVID-19, however the 2022 version will have no such limitations. The ceremony is once more open to the public.
Perryville will graduate 153 students, who will walk across the stage in the ceremony to receive their diplomas. Perryville moved away from the valedictorian and salutatorian recognitions last year and changed to the Cum Laude system of recognition. There are 30 students receiving academic honors.
Even though they will not have a specific Valedictorian and Salutatorian this year, Perryville will still have speakers Taegan Gerler and Megan Buchheit. Taegan is the daughter of Jaimy and Chris Brown, along with Scott and Amy Gerler. Megan is the daughter of Glen and Laura Buchheit.
Perryville High School Principal Jeff Steffens will serve as the commencement speaker as chosen by the senior class.
“Usually, administrators are not selected to speak at graduation, so I’m very honored that the Class of 2022 has chosen to listen to me on their very last day as Perryville High School students,” Steffens said. “I met this group at their freshman orientation, when I welcomed them to PHS, and I have the privilege of congratulating them as they leave us.”
St. Vincent will follow a similar path Sunday, May 22, when they conduct its graduation ceremony at 2 p.m. in the St. Vincent De Paul Church. There will be 39 students that will receive their diplomas, and much like Perryville there will be no limitations for COVID-19, after families having to sit in alternating pews in 2021.
The Valedictorian is Addison Cates, the daughter of Jason and Amy Cates, while the Salutatorian is Lexi Bohnert, the daughter of Kurt and Courtney Bohnert.
Roger Steinbecker will serve as this year’s commencement speaker.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here